NEWS: John Frum Features The Faceless and TDEP Members

JF2“Darkly psychedelic and meticulously crafted death metal” reads the tagline of new supergroup project John Frum’s homepage. From the minds of Eli Litwin (Knife the Glitter, Deveykus), Matt Hollenberg (John Zorn, Cleric), Derek Rydquist (The Faceless), and Liam Wilson (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Starkweather) come yet another in a long line of impressive projects featuring unique collaborations of talented musicians.

Whispers of the project came as early as July 2015, with some esoteric imagery being posted to their Facebook page late last year – including an image of gas mask-wearing townsfolk and a profile picture that eludes to old Wicker Man art. The name itself is equally esoteric, referencing the cargo cults of the South Pacific Islands. If you’re unfamiliar with the story, they explain the connection in a manifesto on their official website.

On the fifteenth of February, John Frum officially announced the title of their album along with a teaser for the music you can expect to hear later this year:

After nearly six years, John Frum will release their 40 minute album, A Stirring in the Noos, this May through Relapse Records. You can follow news from the band through the Facebook page and Official Website. What do you think of the teaser?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top