NEWS: Machine Head Release New Single, Announce Upcoming Album

Fans of modern thrash/groove metal, rejoice! Bay Area legends Machine Head just unveiled a new song off their upcoming record (more on that later). It’s called “Beyond The Pale”, and you can listen to it right here and now by clicking on the video below.

“Beyond The Pale”…

…has, interestingly, been likened to “Love?” by Strapping Young Lad by some people around the Internet since its release, especially for its abrupt tranisition from an epic, clean-sung passage to the crushing main riff and frantic screaming by frontman Robb Flynn (who still sounds effing amazing, by the way; the years have definitely not taken a toll on his voice).

Anyway, the song is more of a mid-tempo stomper, and it should satisfy the cravings of all those who thought that the lightning-fast thrash or symphonic divagations Machine Head have been indulging in lately just didn’t have the punch they have erupted onto the scene with in their early years. The aforementioned main riff kicks all kinds of ass, and the more melodic sections do not feel like filler, integrating neatly into the song as a whole without disrupting the heaviness.

But wait!‘, I hear you say, ‘didn’t the headline read that the band also announced a new album?‘ Sure enough, it does. Here’s the deal: Machine Head‘s upcoming ninth studio album is called Catharsis and will be out on January 26, 2018 via Nuclear Blast. Here’s what Mr. Flynn himself has to say about it:

I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album. And it needs to… now more than ever. A lot of consideration went into making these songs more identifiable to a wider audience. Simplifying ideas, simplifying hooks, really concentrating on story-telling as opposed to ‘brutal poetry’ or whatever. And while I’d love to say it was all some grand plan, there was no “plan”, [y]ou never know where you’re going to end up whenever you start writing a record… you just write… but I tell ya what… we ended up with a landmark here.

Whenever you finish an album, you always feel proud, but this time… we’ve got something really special. We can feel it. We know it. »Catharsis« could really elevate our genre.

Nuclear Blast were also kind enough to release the album’s tracklist, which reads as follows:

1. Volatile
2. Catharsis
3. Beyond The Pale
4. California Bleeding
5. Triple Beam
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Bastards
8. Hope Begets Hope
9. Screaming At The Sun
10. Behind A Mask
11. Heavy Lies The Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy

So there you go! Are you looking forward to this new release? Let us know in the comments! Make sure to follow Machine Head on Facebook to not miss out on any further updates, and if you want, you can pre-order Catharsis here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top