Reviews

Review: The Afterimage – “Lumiere”

The wait is finally over. Three years and four singles after their debut EP, Formless, The Afterimage have released their second EP, Lumiere via Tragic Hero Records. Lumiere is an eight-track EP featuring three re-recorded songs and five tracks of all new material (Bulb/Periphery reference intended).

The three songs The Afterimage re-recorded on Lumiere are ‘Seeking’, ‘Unseen’ and ‘Onyx’. Aside from cleaning up the production and giving the songs more definition and clarity, The Afterimage also made a couple of tweaks in ‘Seeking’ and ‘Unseen’, including dropping the “the” out of both song titles. Some harsh vocal parts were switched out for clean vocals in ‘Seeking’ and they also made a couple of minor changes here and there to ‘Unseen’.

Perhaps the most telling sign to me as to the direction The Afterimage is going in, is the one song that didn’t make the cut on Lumiere: ‘Pathogen’. It’s understandable why ‘Pathogen’ wouldn’t be on Lumiere as it doesn’t fit in with the rest of the EP. But I’m not gonna lie, I’m a little bummed about it. ‘Pathogen’ is the heaviest song The Afterimage have released to date, and it looks like it’s going to stay that way. But for now, I’ll hold out hope that maybe they’ll revisit it for a future release.

The sound The Afterimage is going for on Lumiere is almost day and night compared to Formless. The new material on Lumiere gives me a heavier, more technical and djenty Dance Gavin Dance vibe. And trust me, that’s a good thing. A perfect example of what I’m talking about can be heard in ‘Distance’.

I don’t know what genre you want to call the electronic interlude track, ‘Without You’. Whatever it is, I could have done without it. That’s just me though. The following track ‘Reach’, however, is probably my favorite of the new songs on Lumiere. It closes out the EP and brings everything full circle with the same feel as the intro title track, ‘Lumiere’. One of my favorite parts of this track is the additional atmospheric vibe provided by the keys, which can be heard about a minute into the song.

All things considered, my overall listening experience with Lumiere is a positive one. As a fan of The Afterimage since the Formless days back in 2012, it’s exciting to see them finally releasing new music and hitting the road to tour with the likes of Invent, Animate, Polyphia and Erra.

The Afterimage are a great up and coming band and they deserve to be a household name in the metal community. There is a part of me that wonders what could have been had they decided to stick to their roots and take the heavier route they started with Formless. But Lumiere just shows how diverse The Afterimage are as a band and as songwriters.

Verdict: 7/10

Notable Tracks: ‘Seeking’, ‘Unseen’, ‘Reach’

FFO: Erra, Dance Gavin Dance, Monuments

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Jacob Frye

    4 September, 2015 at 12:05 am

    I like both styles

  2. Adolph Angulo

    4 September, 2015 at 12:18 am

    I love it.

  3. Michael Campos

    4 September, 2015 at 12:22 am

    Love the new stuff, had to go buy a physical copy for sure, 8/10 for me, love the old stuff as well. These guys are very impressive at what they do, always have been.

  4. Noah Thomas Sarrels

    4 September, 2015 at 12:22 am

    Yes. Totally agree.

  5. Noah Thomas Sarrels

    4 September, 2015 at 12:23 am

    I’m glad you did it and not me because I would’ve given it a 6/10.

  6. Sam Stevenson

    4 September, 2015 at 12:26 am

    I personally prefer the new direction, the three new track are my favourites

  7. Louis Gutierrez

    4 September, 2015 at 12:34 am

    Meh like them either way

  8. Mike Irollthekush Baker

    4 September, 2015 at 12:40 am

    For those who want the heavier side of the afterimage just listen to Centuries Apart. Personally Lumière was amazing. “Follow” should have lled you to realizing where the ep would be sound wize. Heavy or not its utter perfection in every aspect of the genre.

  9. Guillaume Boivin

    4 September, 2015 at 12:51 am

    One of my favourite bands, just plain genius.

  10. Matts Rumsey

    4 September, 2015 at 1:02 am

    Lumiere is fantastic.

  11. Alessandro Bambini

    4 September, 2015 at 1:03 am

    I miss heavy stuff like my favourite track of them, Pathogen

  12. David Harding

    4 September, 2015 at 1:29 am

    Hasn’t lumiere just been a completion of all the singles they’ve released in the last couple of years?

  13. John Reeves

    4 September, 2015 at 1:48 am

    Incredible album. These guys are truly amazing. They pretty much transcend everything I thought a band could ever be.

  14. Criss Desmond

    4 September, 2015 at 1:53 am

    “Diverse”? Hahahah! Almost every single track on this EP follows a formula and sounds the same.

  15. Mo Saleh

    4 September, 2015 at 1:55 am

    This EP is definitely solid! Think of it as a metal band with Mars Volta style clean vocals.

  16. Joel Tullos

    4 September, 2015 at 2:22 am

    damnit, another choir boy…

  17. Billie Helton

    4 September, 2015 at 2:28 am

    There are three new tracks on it as well!

  18. Criss Desmond

    4 September, 2015 at 2:32 am

    >implying music relates to fashion.
    You wanna check out my soundcloud? Regardless if you like my music or not, I’ve got diversity. Trance, chillout, trap, metal, synthpop, ambient, drum and bass

  19. Dom Macias

    4 September, 2015 at 2:32 am

    5/10

  20. Billie Helton

    4 September, 2015 at 2:33 am

    Actually yeah hit me with the link I’ll give it a listen

  21. Criss Desmond

    4 September, 2015 at 2:37 am

    Also, this hairstyle is both “fashionable” and “respectable”. I get compliments from the elderly all the time. It’s a modern variation of 50’s-60’s styles.
    I’m also well aware that 4 of my friends have variations of the same style lol

  22. Michael Devlin

    4 September, 2015 at 2:47 am

    sun et lumiere?

  23. Austin Franco

    4 September, 2015 at 3:18 am

    I’m satisfied with this release, for once I actually dig the semi-poppy parts of songs. Not overdone and just the right amount, at least they keep the riffage up with some wicked leads. No complaints

  24. Alexis Ro

    4 September, 2015 at 4:08 am

    This album is dope if you guys want heavier stuff just go listen to death core or something else .

  25. Jio Guzman

    4 September, 2015 at 4:21 am

    Half of the songs were already released. 5.5/10

  26. Michael Muller

    4 September, 2015 at 5:42 am

    Well put! Especially about the CENTURIES APART part. Too bad they called that side project quits though :/

  27. Michael Muller

    4 September, 2015 at 5:47 am

    If they want their audience to branch out from guitar-snobs to the more mainstream media to get their name out there then theyre gonna have to adjust. Jesse from Erra manages them, and they were produced by super talented dudes. And the songs definitely dont sound the same. Distance sounds completely different than anything on the album and Reach and Follow show more of their current style of their writing.

  28. Michael Muller

    4 September, 2015 at 5:49 am

    Yeah. I’ll defintely miss it too, but I’m not at all sad about their new direction! I just wish they didnt stop writing as CENTURIES APART. You should check that project out if you want heavy + members of TAI

  29. Nikhil Sundas

    4 September, 2015 at 6:23 am

    Centuries apart was boring!

  30. Eddie Sakiewicz

    4 September, 2015 at 6:38 am

    No dude

  31. Michael Muller

    4 September, 2015 at 7:07 am

    Preconscience was really good though xD

  32. Jordan Nicholas Balentine

    4 September, 2015 at 7:45 am

    John Harrison

  33. John Harrison

    4 September, 2015 at 7:53 am

    Duuude I’m telling you it’s probably one of my favorite releases of the year. The vocals might be a little poppy for your taste but I think they’ll grow on you.

  34. Jordan Nicholas Balentine

    4 September, 2015 at 8:02 am

    Yeah I’ll have to give it a chance hoss

  35. Sam Murray

    4 September, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    I’d be more impressed if it wasn’t basically a digital remaster of all those old songs. “Follow” is catchy but I’m not too keen on anything else. 4/10

  36. Chris Oliver

    4 September, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Amazing EP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending

To Top